Reviews

On this page you will find reviews and how our guests have rated us.

Excellent
Based on 371 reviews
Karen R
Karen R
2024-06-21
Verified
Great place to stay Everything we needed plus more. Tony and Lisa were fabulous hosts. Warmly welcomed and orientated to house and even an early check in. The room (number 5) was tight for space but we did have a lot of stuff! Plenty of hanging/storage space however and we were hardly there as we used our room as storage and as a base while doing lots of trips out of London. Location is perfect - so so central. You can get anywhere from this location. Loved the conservatory kitchen and small garden out the back which we utilised often. We will definitely stay here again. Great find!
Michael H
Michael H
2024-05-28
Verified
Absolutely fantastic! Tony and his sister are the loveliest people! Our credit card was stolen just prior to our trip and they allowed us to stay over extra- blocking off the room while we got the new one shipped to us. Absolutely fantastic stay, location and hosts!
Malin
Malin
2024-05-19
Verified
Lovely stay in zone 2 at an affordable rate! I had an amazing stay at The Lavender Guest House! The location was perfect, just a short walk from Clapham Junction (zone 2). My room was very clean and comfortable with both kettle and a private bathroom. There was access to a kitchen and garden downstairs too. The staff were all super friendly and helpful, always willing to answer our questions or provide recommendations. Very welcoming! Only thing to note is that the stairs could be a tad steep if you have mobility difficulties but there are also rooms on the ground floor. The Lavender Guest House is perfect for anyone looking for a comfortable and convenient stay in London at fantastic rates. (I have already booked my next stay!)
joseda55
joseda55
2023-12-22
Verified
Perfect The best stay in London of all the trips I have had to the city. Very attentive staff and very nice and comfortable room. The neighborhood is very good, with all services nearby. It has two kitchens, one of them in the garden.
david a
david a
2023-12-15
Verified
Everything perfect, I loved it Hello, I have been there this week and I had read very good reviews of the site and I can say that everything you read is little, Tony is super friendly, willing to help you with everything you need, the site is very well located with stations very close that they take you to all the places you need, everything very clean so I would go back there without thinking, thanks Tony.
USRoadTripper
USRoadTripper
2023-11-23
Verified
Full review of room 8 - small but comfortable, affordable, convenient but NO AIRCON I stayed in this hotel for five nights in September of 2023. Overall, I had a very nice stay. The location is nice because there are a lot of dining and shopping options nearby, but it is not an area heavily traveled by tourists. It felt very local, and I didn't feel particularly unsafe even when walking late at night. The train station is an easy walk away, but you will have to make a transfer to get to most of the touristy areas of town. I didn't find this to be cumbersome, but it does add a few extra minutes to your commute. The hotel was always quiet, and Tony was extremely friendly and responsive. It felt like I'd met a new local friend who could help me with anything I'd need. I stayed in room 8 on the third floor. I didn't see any specific review of this room, so I'm going to try to give as much specific info as I can. The room is pretty small, but it was comfortable and I found it adequate as a single traveler. There is a queen sized bed, and there is a small table with a chair between the door and the bed. The bathroom has a shower stall with a sink next to it, but it is genuinely tiny, and I couldn’t get to the sink without turning sideways and squeezing between the shower and the wall. I also wasn't able to dry off without opening the bathroom door since it was so small, so this may be an issue depending on who you're travelling with. The toilet was in the opposite corner of the room in its own separate (very small) room. There was a decent sized closet built in one corner and the windows spanned basically the whole width of the wall. There is a fan on a ledge by the side of the bed opposite the door, and a TV hangs on the wall with the windows. This would be a very tight squeeze for two people due to having no place to store luggage. I would love to see the hotel replace the bed frame in this room with one that is tall enough to store luggage underneath so it could free up some floor space. Overall I had no issue with the size of the room, but I wanted to be detailed about it since it may be a deal breaker for people who need more space. The rest of the hotel was in good shape, and was clean and inviting. You have access to two kitchen and lounge areas, including access to refrigerators and cooking equipment. The front door always felt securely locked. There is no elevator/lift, but I didn't find the climb to the third floor to be cumbersome with average mobility. There was also great communication with Tony and his father, either by phone or by online message when they needed to update me on anything. This hotel does not have any air conditioning. Tony explained that they were not allowed to add it, so this is not a fault of the owners. However, even when it was in the 60sF outside, the room was uncomfortably warm inside. I had to sleep with the fan on and windows open every night, and even then there wasn't much of a breeze to cool it down. This also caused me to hear road noise early in the morning. Lack of air is the only reason I'd give four stars instead of five because I would not recommend staying here during the warmer months of the year. Overall, I would 100% stay here again if I was traveling at a time with cool or cold weather since the price was very reasonable, the room was comfortable, the location was relatively convenient, and the service was top notch. However, I would not stay here during the summer due to the lack of air conditioning.
Barbara-Liguria
Barbara-Liguria
2023-09-04
Verified
Everything perfect and clean: highly recommended Very satisfied with single room no. 6 on the 2nd floor (there are only stairs, 33 steps) with a complete internal bathroom (there is no air conditioning, but despite the heat of the first few days, it was enough to leave the window open and there were no problems). Sheets, towels, shower gel and liquid hand soap are provided. There are 2 complete kitchens available for guests (dishes, microwave, fridge, oven, sink, soap, etc.), one of which has a view of the garden. Clapham Junction train station is less than a 5 minute walk away, from where bus no. 345 to the Natural History Museum and no. 344 for the Sky Garden. While the stops of bus no. 87 (bound to Westminister) and no. 77 (direct to Waterloo Station) is 1 minute from the guest house. Trains go directly to Victoria Station in about 15 minutes. also convenient if you want to go to Salisbury (Stonehenge) or Eastbourne (they are direct) or Brighton. Around the Guest House there are many places: pizzerias, pubs, cafes, many supermarkets next to each other and various commercial activities: but the street is still very quiet especially at night. Mr. Tony welcomed me warmly and met all my (small) requests: very kind, friendly and nice. I had a great time, like at home. I recommend the Guest House The Lavander both for the location (zone 2), for the cleanliness and for the hospitality of the owner Mr. Tony. thanks for everything
Maria B
Maria B
2023-07-26
Verified
Gradevole e confortevole sistemazione Posto gradevole gestito da una famiglia molto accogliente. In un quartiere caratteristico. Possibilità di utilizzare le 2 cucine fornite di bollitore, microonde, piano cottura e piccolo frigo. Una cucina è posta in una veranda finestrata che dà sul piccolo giardino con fontana e attrezzato con tavolini e sedie da esterno. Camere con bollitore con set di bustine di caffè, latte, zucchero. Bagno con set di asciugamani telo, medio ed uno piccolo per il viso. Sul lavandino 2 dispenser con sapone mani e sapone mani antibatterico. Nella doccia un flaconcino per ospite del sapone-doccia.
Anne M
Anne M
2023-06-26
Verified
Lovely Guest House Lovely guest house. Fantastic service from Tony & family. They were very welcoming & made life easy. Rooms were clean, well maintained, towels changed regularly. 2 fully accessible kitchen areas so you can manage food requirements. Easy access to Clapham common, buses, shops, and trains
Francesco T
Francesco T
2023-06-09
Verified
Fantastic experience Very clean, very quiet, very close to what we needed and good price. Owner Tony very friendly and helpful. Would definitely use this place again. Well done lavender guest house in Battersea. I wl also recommend this place to my friends and family.
Excellent
Based on 125 reviews
Jackie Moorhead
Jackie Moorhead
2024-06-08
Lovely quiet oasis in London, rooms very reasonably priced. Room 6 was perfect for me as a solo traveller having everything I needed. Comfortable bed, hot shower & quiet. Always a friendly greeting from family who own & run this guest house. Easy walk to everything- trains, buses, restaurants, supermarkets, laundrette close by. Kitchen is fabulous to have. Highly recommend.
Jolan Smeets
Jolan Smeets
2024-06-04
Very helpful and pleasant communication from the moment the reservation was made until after we got home. Lovely staff, very welcoming, service minded and kind. We (my two adult sons and I) felt during our 4 nights stay 'home away from home' at The Lavender Guesthouse. Nice garden with chairs and tables. There is a designated smoking area in the garden too. We could use the two well equipped kitchens with dining areas, which was very convenient. We stayed in room numbers 2 (ground floor) and 4 (first floor). They are spacious, clean and with modern bathrooms. Towels, shower gel, hand soap and toilet paper provided. Electric kettle with coffee/tea amenities and an electric power converter also available in the rooms. If needed, do ask for extra power converters. Free high speed WiFi. No noise from other occupied rooms. The guests (solo and couples) staying at the same time all were very polite adults from different countries. The Lavender Guesthouse is situated in the save and nice Battersea district with lots of great restaurants, supermarkets, shops, bars and pubs. Battersea district is very near the city center and has a variety of efficient low cost public transportation offerings. Buy an Oystercard, which you can use for all trains, busses (coaches), metro (tube). Except for the Stansted Airport Express, you have to book separate tickets. We will stay at The Lavender Guesthouse again, during our next London city trip!
Arthur Komatsu
Arthur Komatsu
2024-05-29
Highly recommend, lovely owners, lovely neighbourhood, great location, charming house and the price is great!
Michael Harrington
Michael Harrington
2024-05-29
Tony and Co are the loveliest, helping us out of bind when our credit card information was stolen - being very accommodating, understanding and helpful. We couldn't be happier with the location , rooms and service. Highly recommended!
Marcus Roebuck
Marcus Roebuck
2024-05-28
Best place in town
Tamara Ham
Tamara Ham
2024-05-21
Perfect location for catching up with friends at short notice. The room was small but clean and comfortable with plenty of storage. It was quiet for a great night sleep and the service was outstanding - the team were so willing to help.
Marv Asika
Marv Asika
2024-05-16
What a find! I have been to many hotels in the UK and abroad and this will definitely be one of the best. For a 3 star hotel they have really put in the effort and thought about everything. I was pleasantly surprised that they have two dining rooms where you can sit eat which also has a kitchen area where you can use the microwave, toaster, kettle and fridge. All plates and cutlery provided. Tony is an excellent host, very friendly and accommodating. He even upgraded my room for free due to a last minute cancellation and didn't charge the extra charge for my partner coming to stay on the second night. The place is very clean and organised, they even have a deal with the local cafe that you can get 15% off your breakfast! Very convenient location close to supermarkets, shops and bars as well as Clapham junction station all very close by. Very well priced for the location and for what you get for your money. Would definitely visit again and recommend.
joe perschler
joe perschler
2024-05-14
Good luck to book this facility. Great location for our needs, room was very comfortable, and the guest dining rooms, both inside and by the outside garden area was very well equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee, and TV. As you will notice from prior reviews, Tony and Lisa are so attentive and helpful to all their guests, having come from a hotelier background.
Ramchandra Apte
Ramchandra Apte
2024-05-02
Great value for money. Tony is very friendly and it’s easy to reach Central London. The rooms are small but very clean. I think the sink was a bit too small.